Datuk Abang Haji Abdul Karim Bin Tun Abang Haji Openg


Senior Independent Non-Executive Director

Datuk Abang Haji Abdul Karim is a prominent corporate figure in Sarawak.  He held various positions including President of the Sarawak Chamber of Commerce and Industry (SCCI) and is also a founding Director of BIMP-EAGA Business Council (BEBC) and BIMP-EAGA Malaysian Business Council (BEMBC) Sarawak Chapter First Chairman.  He sits on the Board of Amanah Saham Sarawak (ASSAR) and is the Chairman of Brooke Dockyard and Engineering Works Corporation as well as a member of Sarawak Islamic Council and Lembaga Baitulmal and Wakaf Sarawak.  He is a Co-Chairman with the State Secretary of the Sarawak State Pemudah Task Force,  official member of the Malaysian International Chamber of Commerce and Industry (MICCI) general committee representing Sarawak, member of the Board of the Malaysian Productivity Corporation as well as Sarawak Convention Bureau.
Datuk Abang Haji Abdul Karim’s extensive commercial experience and broad knowledge in the public sector enable him to provide a different perspective and independent view to the Board.  He was appointed as the Senior Independent Non-Executive Director of the Board of Ta Ann Holdings Berhad since 2 October 1999.  He is also the Chairman of the Audit Committee and the Nomination Committee and a member of the Remuneration Committee and Risk Management Committee.  He graduated with a Bachelor of Economics (Hons) degree from University of Malaya, Malaysia and later obtained a Master’s degree in Management from Asian Institute of Management, Philippines.
Datuk Abang Haji Abdul Karim has no family relationship with any director and major shareholder of Ta Ann Holdings Berhad, nor any personal interest in any business arrangement involving the Company.
He attended all five (5) of both the Board meetings and the Audit Committee meetings held in the financial year.
Job Function:
Senior Independent Non-Executive Director
Board Committee:
Audit Committee Chairman
Nomination Committee Chairman
Remuneration Committee Member
Risk Management Committee Member